Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award

Who is Kevin Carr?

Kevin Carr was the seventh president of Newman Theological College, from 1993-2001. He was the first layperson appointed to this position and during his tenure he was involved in a major restructuring and renewal of the College. Committed to a life of service, Mr. Carr’s accomplishments include an extensive record of contributions to religious and professional organizations and to the broader community in a variety of roles. Even in retirement, Mr. Carr continues to forge a legacy of generous Christian Witness.

What is the purpose of the award?

For fifteen years, the Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award has recognized and honoured individuals whose outstanding Christian Leadership reflects the values of Newman Theological College and the qualities that Kevin Carr cherished and exhibited in his work as President.

Who is eligible to receive the award?

Any lay person(s) who has provided significant leadership in fostering/promoting Christian culture, and whose leadership efforts have had a positive and lasting impact in western and northern Canada.

Who is eligible to nominate?

Nominations are invited from individuals, businesses, organizations, and community groups.

How do I nominate someone for the award?

Simply fill out the Nomination Form and attach to it the support material described below. Please refer to the checklist at the end of the brochure to ensure all items have been completed and are included in your nomination packages. No further information may be submitted.



Areas of Contribution:


Modelling Christ, the nominee(s) has shared his or her gifts for leadership in guiding and inspiring positive community development.

Christian - Witness

The achievements of the nominee(s) shall witness a response to the call of Jesus Christ to be a leaven in the work of transforming society and fostering a true Christian Culture.

Community - Engagement

Christian Leadership is at the humble and faithful service of the community. The nominee(s) will have manifested generous, collaborative, and long-term commitment to the growth of a just and loving community.

Support letters

Three current letters required including one from the nominator.

Nominee profile

A profile no longer than three pages is to be completed by the nominator. This should contain details of the the nominee’s significant contributions in the areas of leadership and Christian service merit which demonstrates his or her meriting this award. Please refer to the selection criteria for guidance.

When is the closing date for nominations?

All nominations must be received at Newman Theological College by 4:00 PM  on May 1st.

How are the nominations processed?

The Nomination Selection Committee will review all applications for completeness, appropriateness and accuracy. The Committee is made up of individuals who represent Newman Theological College Senate, Faculty, Administration and two community members at large.

How and when will the award recipient be recognized?

The Award Recipient will be notified by Newman Theological College and invited to attend a celebratory luncheon in their honour in the fall of 2017 to receive the Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award.


If you have any questions or require guidance in the preparation of the nomination, please contact:
Michelle Maxwell
Newman Theological College
780.392.2455 or


2021 - Deferred until 2022 due to COVID-19
2020 - Neil Koziak
2019 - David & Cathy Bouchard
2018 - Mike Paonessa
2017 - Sandra Prather
2016 - Joyce Tutt
2015 - Glen Argan
2014 - Marc Barylo
2013 - Mary Molloy
2012 - Dr. Kae Neufeld
2011 - Rosanna M. Saccomani
2010 - Ben Hochhausen
2009 - Sr. Annata Brockman
2008 - Donald Zinyk
2007 - Sen. Douglas J. Roche
2006 - Tim Spelliscy
2005 - Ernest Chauvet
2004 - The Honourable Jean Forest


Event Information

Kevin Carr Luncheon

Due to Covid-19 we will be planning an awards luncheon once restrictions are lifted.