CCS 036 Reconciliation Course Outline

The Sacrament of Reconciliation (commonly called Confession, Reconciliation or Penance) is one of seven sacraments of the Catholic Church and sacred mysteries of Eastern Christianity, in which the faithful obtain divine mercy for the sins committed against God and neighbor and are reconciled with the community of the church. From this comprehensive study, participants will come to better understand the meaning and relevance of the Sacrament of Reconciliation in our church today.

Course Structure and Highlights

Lesson 1: Introduction

Lesson 2: What is the Sacrament of Reconciliation?

Lesson 3: Rich in Mercy

Lesson 4: The Sacraments of Healing

Lesson 5: The History of the Sacrament of Reconciliation

Lesson 6: The Three Rites of Reconciliation

Lesson 7: The Elements of the Sacrament of Reconciliation

Lesson 8: The Link of Sin

Lesson 9: Mortal Sin and the Christian Life

Lesson 10: Venial Sin


Deacon George Newman


Online Resources


Catechism of the Catholic Church.
The Holy Bible.


Reconciliation consists of ten lessons and ten assignments, as well as weekly discussions; with each assignment weighted at 10% (percent) of the total grade. Completion of the entire course is determined by either a pass or fail.

Technical Skills and Equipment Requirements

  • You must have Internet access. A high speed connection, either ADSL or cable, is recommended.
  • You should know how to use a web browser to navigate the web to locate educational resources and download files.
  • You will need the files management skills necessary to create directories, to save files and to retrieve files.