News Releases

Change of Director of Religious Education, SK

21 June, 2021 - I would like to share that after serving as Director of Religious Education for NTC’s extension site in Saskatoon, SK since its inception Sr. Teresita Kambeitz, OSU has decided to retire from her role with the College. Sr. Teresita played a critical role in launching the program, helping to coordinate this initiative between NTC and the Saskatchewan Catholic School Boards Association. Under her leadership, some 40 GDRE/MRE students graduated, students who serve in nearly all of the eight Catholic School divisions in SK.

Sr. Teresita concludes this role after having also served on NTC’s faculty from 1988-1999, and a lifetime devoted to ministry that includes 65 years in the practice of education. On a personal note, I would mention that in all of my visits to Saskatoon I’ve never met with such enthusiastic and joy-filled students as those who have taken part in the MRE extension site. Their love for religious education, learning and one another was clearly in no small part due to the nurturing care that Sr. Teresita gave to their education. The College is also grateful that Sr. Teresita has agreed to continue supervising field education projects for Saskatoon students that are still in the program.

Newman Theological College is also proud to announce that the new Director for Religious Education in Saskatchewan will be Dr. Brett Salkeld. He comes to us from the Archdiocese of Regina where he serves as the Archdiocesan Theologian and is responsible for Deacon Formation. Brett is a prolific author and engaging teacher and speaker. His publications include the books: Can Catholics and Evangelicals Agree about Purgatory and the Last Judgment?, How Far Can We Go? A Catholic Guide to Sex and Dating (with Leah Perrault)and Transubstantiation: Theology, History, and Christian Unity. He is currently working on a book for Catholic teachers tentatively titled Educating for Eternity: Making Every Class Catholic.

In Christ,
Jason West, Ph.D.
President & Vice-Chancellor

2021-February-16 - NTC Welcomes New Philosophy Professor, Mr. Francis Fast

2020-October-01 - Leader, humanitarian and philanthropist Neil Koziak named recipient of Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award

2019-June-10 - David & Cathy Bouchard are first joint recipients of Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award

2018-February-09 - Newman Theological College welcomes relocation of Holy Spirit Ukrainian Catholic Seminary to Edmonton

2017-December-21 - Respected Scripture scholar Stéphane Saulnier promoted to rank of Professor

2017-September-15 - Dr. Ryan Topping appointed Vice-President and Academic Dean

2017-July-25 - Sandra Prather to receive NTC's Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award

2017-February-23 - The Association of Theological Schools’ Commission on Accrediting reaffirms the Accreditation of Newman Theological College for a period of seven years.

2016-July-11 - Joyce Tutt named to receive NTC's Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award

2016-May-11 - Newman Theological College Announces the Appointment of a New Academic Dean

2015-July-06 - Glen Argan named to receive Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award

2015-June-12 - NTC honours Dr. Robert McKeon as Professor Emeritus

2014-January-25 - Newman Theological College launches Benedict XVI Institute for New Evangelization

2014-September-08 - Newman Theological College announces 2014 recipient of Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award - Marc Barylo

2013-October-19 - NTC honours Msgr. Frank Patsula and Dr. Gwen Miller as Professors Emeriti

2013-March-21 - Revised Certificate in Catholic Studies Program (C.C.S.)

2013-March-18 - Revised Masters of Religious Education Program (M.R.E.)

2013-February-28 - New Partner joining EXCEL Academy

2013-August-27 - Newman Theological College announces 2013 recipient of Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award - Mary Molloy

2012-October-24 - New Leadership at Newman Theological College

2012-June-22 - NTC Selection Committee announces 2012 winner of Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award - Dr. Kae Neufeld, D. Min.

2011-July-20 - NTC Selection Committee announces 2011 winner of Kevin Carr Christian Leadership Award - Rosanna M. Saccomani, Q.C.