Accreditation & Governance


NTC is considered a freestanding private college within the post-secondary educational system of Alberta. It has been empowered to confer academic degrees, diplomas and certificates in the field of religious sciences. The charter was granted on April 29, 1969, during the second session of the 16th Legislature (Private Bill #4). It was updated by an act of Alberta Legislature on November 15, 1993 by the Newman Theological College Continuance Act.

The College gives priority to the over-arching goal of developing theological understanding. The programs have clearly articulated goals and objectives, exhibit educational integrity, and are directed towards accomplishing the College’s mission. The rich variety of graduate and satellite programs clearly demonstrate the commitment of the College in its outreach to the larger community and are compatible with the College’s primary purpose of providing theological education.

Newman Theological College (NTC) graduate theology degrees are accredited by the Commission of Accrediting - Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada (ATS): 

The Commission contact information is:
The Commission on Accrediting of the Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada
10 Summit Park Drive
Pittsburgh, PA 15275
Telephone: 412-788-6505
Fax: 412-788-6510

The Bachelor of Arts in Catholic Studies (B.A. (Cath.)) undergraduate degree is fully accredited by the Government of Alberta having been reviewed and recommended by Campus Alberta Quality Council.

The college offers other programs that are not accredited but which are appropriate expressions of the College’s mission and offer important opportunities for initial ministerial formation and personal enrichment. These programs include the following:


The Board of Governors

The Board of Governors, as the major governing body of the Newman Theological College Corporation, oversees the governance of the College's operations and its financial administration. The Board also appoints the President of the College.

2022-2023 Membership


  • Most Rev. Richard Smith - Archbishop of Edmonton, Chair
  • Dr. Jason West - President
  • Rev. Sylvain Casavant - Rector for St. Joseph Seminary

Board Members

  • Mrs. Aimee Anderson
  • Mr. Ryan Antonello - Finance Chair
  • Mrs. Tracey Bailey - Vice-Chair, Governance Chair
  • The Honourable Mr. Justice Kevin Feehan - Chancellor
  • Dr. Shawn Flynn - St. Joseph College Representative
  • Mr. Brian Holdsworth
  • Mr. Tony LaGrange
  • Mr. Jonathan Lashyn - NTCSA President
  • Mrs. Monique Parotta
  • Mr. Cam Regehr
  • Dr. Louis Rouleau
  • Ms. Sandra Talarico - Faculty
  • Vacant - Foundation of St. Joseph Seminary & Newman Theological College Representaive

The Academic Senate

The Academic Senate of Newman Theological College is responsible for the educational policies of the College. It concerns itself with policy making in areas such as curriculum programs and institutes, admission standards, awarding of degrees, diplomas and student bursaries.

2022-2023 Membership


  • Dr. Jason West - President
  • The Honourable Mr. Justice Kevin Feehan - Chancellor
  • Rev. Sylvain Casavant - Rector for St. Joseph Seminary
  • Dr. Ryan N.S. Topping - Vice-President and Academic Dean
  • Mrs. Maria Saulnier - Registrar

Faculty and Student Senators

  • Sr. Zoe Bernatsky, SSMI
  • Rev. Dr. Dave Norman
  • Dr. Stéphane Saulnier
  • Ms. Sandra Talarico
  • Jonathan Lashyn - NTCSA President

Representative Senators - non-voting

  • Sr. Anne Rajotte - Women Religious, csj
  • Rev. Robert Lee - Council of Priests
  • Mr. Terence Harris - ECSD School Trustee
  • Rev. Greg Faryna - Ukrainian Catholic Eparchy

The Foundation of St. Joseph Seminary & Newman Theological College

Charitable Registration Number 89348 1465 001

The Foundation is established to carry on all activities dedicated to the advancement of the following goals: theological education, priestly formation of seminarians, and other purposes of a charitable nature beneficial to Newman Theological College and St. Joseph Seminary and to the community as a whole. Its goals are to raise and distribute funds for the purpose of carrying out the missions of the Seminary and College in conformity with the policies established by the Board of Governors of Newman Theological College and the Board of Regents of St. Joseph Seminary.

Foundation Board of Directors

  • Rev. Sylvain Casavant, Rector of St. Joseph Seminary and Foundation Member
  • Dr. Jason West, President of Newman Theological College and Foundation Member
  • Ms. Catharine King, Chair
  • Mr. Joe Ladouceur, Vice-Chair
  • Mr. Scott Venne, Treasurer
  • Mr. John Caputo, Secretary
  • Mr. Richard Iwuc
  • Mr. Keith Johns
  • Ms. Kaygen Simon

Foundation Staff

Vacant - Executive Director for the Foundation of St. Joseph Seminary & Newman Theological College